pasterempire.blogg.se

Sublime text windows subsytem for linux
Sublime text windows subsytem for linuxsublime text windows subsytem for linux
  1. #SUBLIME TEXT WINDOWS SUBSYTEM FOR LINUX HOW TO#
  2. #SUBLIME TEXT WINDOWS SUBSYTEM FOR LINUX INSTALL#
  3. #SUBLIME TEXT WINDOWS SUBSYTEM FOR LINUX CODE#
  4. #SUBLIME TEXT WINDOWS SUBSYTEM FOR LINUX LICENSE#

You activate it, you highlight the code you want snapshoted, and you click the shutter button. Polacode allows you to create “snapshots” of your code.

sublime text windows subsytem for linux

This one really should be in a category all it’s own called “This is so cool” Extensions. (Another reason I love it) “Sugar coating that make the tool very nice to use” Extensions Polacode It recommends that you use the PHPCS extension for that. One of my favorite things about this extension is that if you click on a use statement, it will locate the file that class is defined in and open it for you.Īs I said, this plugin does not attempt to format your code for you. It gives you basic keyword intellisense, tab completion, advanced searching, etc. This plugin does not do anything too wild. This caused me to have to do a lot of correcting, removing spaces, and reformatting before I could use the code I just pasted in.

#SUBLIME TEXT WINDOWS SUBSYTEM FOR LINUX INSTALL#

(It is actually recommended that when you install this extension, you turn off the native PHP intellisense) There are a couple of Extensions that do this, I tried them all and this is by far the best and least intrusive.Īt least one of them tried to format things as I pasted them in. Since the vast majority of my work in VSC is PHP code, I wanted more than the basic intellisense that is built into VSC. If you don’t have this extension, you are missing the power of VSC, especially if you work in Win/WSL. This could be your complete ssh solution if you so desired. If you want, you can even setup forwarders. (which I still hate) The shell it presents is better and more compatible than any shell I’ve used in Windows so far. This means a bash shell in WSL for me, not the PowerShell.

sublime text windows subsytem for linux

The fourth item on the list above is a convenience extension that makes editing remote ssh config files easier by giving keyword intellisense and syntax coloring.īONUS: When you open the terminal window while connected to WSL, a container, or SSH, you get a command prompt in that environment. That did away with the need for an extension solely for that purpose.

sublime text windows subsytem for linux

This group of extensions also integrate the remote file system into VSC so you can use File->New/Save/SaveAs/Delete etc on remote systems, WSL, and inside containers. VSC Remote Development Extension Pack actually has a server piece that it runs in Containers, WSL, and over SSH to allow it to seamlessly manipulate files and directories. It’s that middle task that makes the magic happen. This will open VCS, instantiate a running instance of it’s server piece inside the WSL, and open the current directory ready for us to begin working. You can translate into your favorite command prompt) developers can open a single file or a directory by simply typing code. They allow you to edit files natively inside of the WSL, inside of running Docker containers, or on any machine that you can ssh into.įrom a command prompt inside the WSL (I use bash so I’m going to say bash prompt form now on.

  • Remote – SSH: Editing Configuration Files.
  • This is actually an extension pack, not a single extension. It was only released in May, so I have the least amount of experience with this one but trust me, this is the ONE you have to install if you don’t install anything else. This is what made VSC actually useful to me on a day to day basis. This is the grandaddy of all the extensions. “Absolutely must have or it’s not worth using” extensions Visual Studio Code Remote Development Extension Pack You may be using MacOS or Linux, but since all my development is Linux, almost everything I talk about here will apply. My production servers are all Linux (CentOS if you MUST know) All of my projects are stored on either GitLab or GitHub. I use Windows 10, but I use the Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) for all of my development. WAIT! Before we get started though, let me describe my setup. I’ve loaded more than 40 of them now at one time or another but I’ve paired my list down to my “Essential 12”. Once I got the basics setup, I started exploring Extensions. Maybe if I had bothered to do that with Sublime Text, I’d still be using it.

    #SUBLIME TEXT WINDOWS SUBSYTEM FOR LINUX HOW TO#

    All that changed last year when I became one of the last developers on earth to notice VS Code by Microsoft.īack in April, since I found myself with some time on my hands, I decided I would spend a day actually learning how to use VS Code.

    #SUBLIME TEXT WINDOWS SUBSYTEM FOR LINUX LICENSE#

    I’ve owned a license at the last three places I’ve worked and even maintained my own personal license. For the last few years I’ve been a huge fan of “Sublime Text”. Programs just smart enough to know that I’m working in code and give me tools to do that properly, but not so smart that they get in my way. So for the majority of my programming career, I’ve used “program editors”. I don’t always want to edit a file that is in a project and I don’t like any of the ‘project-less’ kludges that are out there.

    Sublime text windows subsytem for linux